About the Jackson MS Chapter of Jack and Jill


In 1966, a group of Jackson (MS), Mississippi mothers who were interested in maintaining the role of the family as a cohesive unit during the 1960s organized and met to form a Mothers Club. This Mothers Club was a prerequisite to become a functioning chapter of Jack and Jill of America, Incorporated. Mrs. Marguerite Randolph was the leader of the Mothers Club.

For two years, the Mothers Club had meetings and planned programs which incorporated the mission of Jack and Jill of America, Incorporated. While waiting for admission into the parent organization, the mothers met with their children and divided them into grade groups. Each grade group was very active in attending different programs in Jackson (MS), Mississippi and in doing things together. There were Family Nights, parties for graduating seniors, panel discussions, and other cultural and educational activities.

In 1968, the original group of mothers welcomed a new group of five additional mothers into the Mothers Club. The yearly programs continued. In June 1969, Mrs. Eleanor Deloarch, National President, officially installed the Mothers Club into the national organization in an impressive ceremony and thus, the Jackson (MS) Chapter of Jack and Jill of America, Inc. was chartered. Mrs. Randolph was elected as the first President of the Jackson (MS) Chapter. The chapter was originally in the South Central Region and in the summer of 1971, the chapter was represented at the National Convention in Beaumont, Texas. During 1971, there were 21 active members. At the Roanoke, Virginia National Convention in 1973, the chapter successfully petitioned to become associated with the Southeastern Region. Since that time, the Jackson (MS) Chapter of Jack and Jill of America, Incorporated has maintained its membership in the national organization and the Southeastern Region.

Chapter Presidents


Jackson MS Chapter

Jack and Jill of America, Incorporated

Marguerite Randolph © * 1970 – 1971

Daisy Mullen ©* 1971 – 1972

Barbara Crockett Dease © 1972 – 1973

Cozetta White Buckley © 1973 – 1975

Geraldine T. Kelly 1975 – 1976

Carrie Green James* 1976 – 1977

Belivira Marshall Junior 1977 – 1980

Verna Polk Curtis 1980 – 1982

Betty Clarke* 1982 – 1983

Zelma Carson 1983 – 1985

Barbara Crockett Dease © 1985 – 1987

Dianne B, Fraser 1987 – 1988

Ida B. Witherspoon 1988 – 1989

H. Ann Jones 1989 – 1990

Mavis Parkman James 1990 – 1991

Joyce Gwendolyn Taylor 1991 – 1993

Maude Wright 1993 – 1997

Mavis Parkman James 1997 – 1999

Gerilynn Gustinette Thomas 1999 – 2001

Dorothy Thompson 2001 – 2003

Janice R. Mitchell 2003 – 2005

Janice R. Mitchell 2005 – 2007

Toni Carey Moore 2007 – 2009

Stephanie Jefferson-Smith 2009 – 2011

Mitzi Dease Paige 2011 –2015

Lisa Gibson - McKee 2015 -

© Charter Member